GLF Bonn 2020: 3-5 June, online

Join 10 conversations on how to use storytelling to change today’s world

At GLF digital conference, Bill McKibben, John Vidal, Al Jazeera, Earth Journalism Network and more join Landscape News to discuss the power of narrative

26 May 2020
26 May 2020

Storytelling is a fundamental part of human civilization, used to teach us, connect us, help us make sense and help us find meaning. Stories are foundational to creating common understandings, belief systems and collective actions. As we step ever more ahead into a changing climate, the stories we tell about the environmental future can be pivotal to how we shape it to be one that allows us to survive and thrive.

As part of the GLF Bonn 2020 digital conference, 10 sessions designed by Landscape News will form the Storytelling Track, a focused section of the conference exploring an array of storytelling mediums and practices as they relate to shaping narratives, understandings and actions around climate change. The learnings, in turn, can be used to re-capture storytelling as a powerful tool for fostering human connection with nature and redirecting development to be more sustainable and respectful of the planet.

Join the conference here, and see the Storytelling Track within the agenda here as well as below.

The role of stories in times of crises
A foreword from Landscape News editor Gabrielle Lipton
3 June at 13:30 CEST / 07:30 EDT

GLF Live with ecolinguist Arran Stibbe
Chapter 1: The language that we use
3 June at 14:00 CEST / 08:00 EDT

Teachings from Australian First Nations author Alexis Wright
Chapter 2: The tradition of fiction
3 June at 15:00 CEST / 09:00 EDT

GLF Live with John Vidal and Bill McKibben
Chapter 3: The state of the pages
3 June at 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT

GLF Live with journalists Sara Schonhardt, Sahana Ghosh, Fredrick Mugira and Bram Ebus
Chapter 4: The body behind the byline
4 June at 15:00 CEST / 09:00 EDT

GLF Live with game experts Elizabeth Newbury and Alan Gershenfeld
Chapter 5: The power of play
4 June at 19:00 CEST / 13:00 EDT

GLF Live with Science editor Holden Thorp and CIFOR scientist Amy Duchelle
Chapter 6: The centrality of science
4 June at 20:00 CEST / 14:00 EDT

GLF Live with Al Jazeera Contrast producer Viktorija Mickute
Chapter 7: The real simulations
5 June at 14:00 CEST / 08:00 EDT

DGM Photo Competition judge’s panel with the World Bank and Conservation International
Chapter 8: The anatomy of the image
5 June at 15:00 CEST / 09:00 EDT

GLF Live with media theorist Douglas Rushkoff
Chapter 9: The digital landscape
5 June at 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT

Artist Bayo Akomolafe tells climate change’s future story
Chapter 10: The power of the collective
5 June at 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT

All illustrations by Jessica Ball


Leave a Reply